Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• RFL-3way in test & tweak mode

Hi all,

The project has moved forward a bit since my latest post. One unit including XO is now in test-mode and initial measurements show promising results.

At first, I thought that the sound was a bit on the ”thin” side but when I studied the measurements, the explanation came to me: (Remember, it´s been like ten years since my last passive system design) I hav geatly underestimated the baffle-step effect on the system. When I cranked up the 50Hz and 320 Hz pots on the Cit11 abt 4-6 dB, the speaker (I have only one) started to sing.

The two attached measurement-pictures show that:

- in ”nearfield 40 cm in between the Woofer and Mid, the integration seems to work fine W-M

- in farfield 300-20000, the integration Mid-Tweeter seems to work as predicted.

I will now install the XOs in the speakers and make new measurements and longterm listening tests on the complete system but I predict that this will end with me padding down Mid and Tweeter abt 4-6 dB

(Now, I´m glad that the L-pads ar placed in the ”foot” under the upper unit…

Regards//lasse

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0102.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	517.0 KB
ID:	1395597

Name:	RFL-3way WM 40 cm.JPG
Views:	32
Size:	127.1 KB
ID:	1395598Click image for larger version

Name:	RFL-3way farfield 300-20000 HZ.JPG
Views:	34
Size:	78.8 KB
ID:	1395599

Perry Mason talking to his dentist:

"Do you swear to take the tooth, the whole tooth and nothing but the tooth, so help you God?"

The padding will most likely alter the shape of the pass band, and will change the cap and coil values needed..

Comment

Originally posted by rpb View Post
      The padding will most likely alter the shape of the pass band, and will change the cap and coil values needed..
      Hi,

OK, after a few minutes of tweaking in Speaker Workshop, I realize that there is no "Quick-Fix" to solve this…