Crossover Confusion and the B652 Air

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Crossover Confusion and the B652 Air

I didn’t see an intro thread, I apologize if I missed it. Posting from Sacramento region of Northern Cali. I recently got back into cars & car audio which led to needing music in the garage while I work which let to, well so on and so forth. Please forgive my ignorance as I have never dived this deeply into speaker/crossover design so I am just learning.

Background:
    Picked up a DA DTA2.1BT2, the MK402X speakers (back ordered), and the HSU VTF-2 for my garage 2.1 system.
    I liked the mini set-up so, even using my car speakers, much I decided to get a system for my daughter’s college studio. She needs a headphone jack so I picked her up:
    Topping MX-3, B652 Airs (because they were in stock versus the MKs and the right $), and a DA Sub-800

So I’ve been reading and learning about crossovers and also reading on all the mods for the B652 Air (and I didn't want to resurrect any of those old threads).

Just when I think I am figuring out crossovers and have components picked out I find info that confuses me.

For example, in this thread linked here 63991-dayton-b652-air-improved?244602-Dayton-B652-AIR-IMPROVED=&highlight=b652 Calspeak says
    “The next thing I did was reverse the tweeter polarity connections at the back of the tweeter like the other modder did. Also added considerably more stuffing. About 10 inches of stripped R-13 OCFG insulation.
    Replaced the 3 ohm tweeter resistor with a 12W Mills 6 ohm resistor because the highs were measuring and playing a bit hot. Lastly, I added a 1 mH air core coil (20 ga.) in series with the woofer”