Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

A simple (but maybe not easy) bracing question. Help please.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A simple (but maybe not easy) bracing question. Help please.

Hi Guys,

I am planning on bracing the 16T X 10W X 14D two way cabinets I've just built with one side to side brace and one baffle to back brace. The cabinets are built of 3/4' Baltic birch and are of 100% mitered construction, including the top and bottom. My question is: Is it better to tie these braces to each other where they cross in roughly the center of the cabinet or keep them seperate from each other? (I know that they should be slightly off center where they butt against the panels). My hunch and one experienced speaker builder says, tie them together, but another very experienced speaker builder I respect says to keep them independent of each other. I wonder if folks who have practical experience can share their views and rationale. I'm still a beginner, this is the biggest cabinet I've built and I'd like it to be the best it can be given that it is using a very basic bracing scheme.

Best,
    Jay

No practical experience, but my gut feeling says to tie them together with a big blob of RTV, to get some vibration absorbing action.
    Francis

Comment

Tying them together will make a more rigid structure of the box. Just make sure the braces are securely connected, so they don't vibrate. Construction adhesive is good for unseen joints.

Comment