Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Designing/Planning a proper Car Audio System. (6.5" or 7" midbass and tweeter combo)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Designing/Planning a proper Car Audio System. (6.5" or 7" midbass and tweeter combo)

Hi All,

[Background]
    It's been about 20 years since I've posted here on the PE TT. I was an avid speaker builder and audiophile while in grad school (and quite active on the TT forum and live speaker building events), but I had to step away from it all in lieu of my growing family and career.

I recently bought a 1st gen Toyota Sequoia, and decided it was time to invest in a proper system... so i took it upon myself to build it out (in the great chip shortage of 2021 no less). My components are:
    1. Two headrest monitors and an overhead monitor... you know, for the kids.
    2. Two SAS Bazooka 8" DVC @ 4 ohms per coil. I have them wired in series/parallel creating a 4 ohm load. (These have sat in a box unused for 20+ years...so they're basically NOS and were the impetus for this whole build. Since I have them, why not use them?)
    3. JVC KW-1000z floating head unit. (5 volt output with built in DSP. I honestly wanted a more humble head unit, but it's the chip shortage--so it was this or a Boss unit. And if I'm dropping this much $ on a head unit, I would have preferred the Kenwood XR version... but there's a global chip shortage, so you get what's available.)
    4. Kenwood 802-5 amplifier. (Wasn't planned--but if you're dropping some coin on the floating head unit you didn't want, why not get the amp as well? Gain all the way down---this isn't for SPL but for sound quality. And I've got two bazooka tubes, right? They deserve the dignity of getting some use.)