EPIQUE-E180HE-44 - New build help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• EPIQUE-E180HE-44 - New build help

I am a newbie here would like to say Hello! to all.
    Just received this pair of 7 inch woofers which is DA's latest woofer. It looks awesome and I was planning to build a pair of stand mounted speakers for my living room (2-way). I was hoping to get the Fountek NeoX1.0 tweeter which has a recommended crossover at 2500Hz, 2nd order. I used the crossover calculator at https://www.diyaudioandvideo.com/Cal...akerCrossover/ which recommended around 4uf capacitors x 2 and inductors at 1mH wired in a 2nd order LR fashion.
    So far could I ask if the above is good enough ?
    The next stage is to design the enclosure. I quite liked the L-SLOT VENT BASS reflex enclosure and came across this design tool http://dbdynamixaudio.com/l-slot-ven...re-calculator/
    Are there any suggestions at this stage?
    I was also wondering about the volume taken up by the woofer and the tweeter - how does one calculate that and factor that in the speaker design
    Thanks very much in advance for your thoughts and suggestions.
    Abraham

Not good enough. Using the NeoX2 (for a quick sim) shows the tweeter level running about +16dB too hot (or so). An L-pad is the best way to bring that down.
    Also, w/out a "Zobel" on the woofer, your textbook filter still lets it run up to about 6kHz.

About a 0.75cf box (tuned in the low 30s) should reach nearly 30Hz. Even though it's only a 7", its huge Xmax probably requires the equiv. of at least a 3"id (round) port area.

Driver volume is not your main problem right now. A custom XO will be.

This might get you pretty close (nearly full baffle-step).
    Ribbon HP 2nd order w/an L-pad: 4uF series cap, 0.70mH shunt coil (to gnd), L-pad SR/PRs = 8ohm series / 2ohm parallel (experiment w/driver polarity)