Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Has anyone seen a 3D printed model for flared port terminals?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Has anyone seen a 3D printed model for flared port terminals?

I'm new to the 3D print world but I'm still kind of surprised that models don't exist for printable port terminals that are designed to be coupled to standard size PVC pipe. Has anyone seen anything similar to this idea?
    Click image for larger version

Name:	268-384_HR_0.default.jpg?resizeid=106&resizeh=1200&resizew=1200.jpg
Views:	151
Size:	66.5 KB
ID:	1479183
    Thanks,
    Aaron

I actually published one recently as part of this model. You may be able to modify the "port_innerflare" object to do what you want:
    https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:5145220

Comment

I designed my own. I generally use freecad or fusion360. For one build I actually printed the entire port (oval shape) which turned out pretty excellent, though you can't see it since it's bottom vented..

Comment

I do this on a regular basis. I can almost never get standard port dimensions to work with my designs. I often design my own flares and bends to utilise PVC pipe and /or cardboard mailing tubes. If I can't get the velocities and first pipe resonance correct doing that I will design and print the entire port. In some cases, like with very high x-max woofers, I have turned to passive radiators.

Matthew
        BSME
        Kannapolis NC

Comment