Too Many Connections?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Too Many Connections?

I am new as a contributor (sponge, actually) of the forum, but have regularly lurked for over a year. I greatly admire the expertise and information sharing of the contributors. Sometimes even the comedy of disagreements! Thank you for your incredible insights. They are indeed helpful. I am a beginner. Brewed my share of beer over the years (and COVID was a perfect recipe for burnout on that!), but also wanted to build a something with a ribbon/planar tweeter after hearing one several years ago. After a Dayton Planar / Aurum Cantus two-way with a stock crossover last year, you folks gave me the bug about the details I have yet to fully comprehend. Gotta say my first project remains amazing to me and those hearing them, although clearly not worthy of discussion here. We all feel they sound better than by old Energy Veritas which now sit beside them. I'm now a proponent of DIY. So here we go:

I have the components for a 3 way, including the Dayton DSA270-8, RS52AN-8 and the HiVi RT2C-A. Yes, I have confirmed that I enjoy planar tweeters. For the critics, the Dayton dome mid can be swapped later if/as needed! I have listened. I found some vintage and good looking Pioneer Walnut veneer cabinets (WAF) from the 70's. I will be modifying the rear and front baffles to create the appropriate internal volume and limit resonances. I listen to you! However, I have started with 750/5000 off-the-shelf crossovers. This is just a starting point, as this is my entry into crossover building and I want an experimental starting point for these speakers. I must say, the components sound good in a freestanding environment while I'm breaking them in. I have no measuring equipment yet, but that will follow. Please no grief about that. :<)

So here's my question: