Recommendations for Speakers/Crossover for beefed-up custom Blast Box build

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Recommendations for Speakers/Crossover for beefed-up custom Blast Box build

I recently built the Blast Box for a friend, and now I want to create my own custom boombox that uses larger midwoofers and a larger sub. However, I'm a noob at building, and I don't know how to choose speakers or design a crossover. I plan to build a custom enclosure, so I don't need to use the same dimensions as the blast box. I also plan to keep the midwoofers in a sealed enclosure just like the original blast box. For the midwoofer, I'm looking for something around 4.5 to 5 inches. For the sub, something around 8 inches. I don't want to drastically increase the size of the boombox by adding a much larger sub. In terms of powering my custom boombox, I'd like to keep the same amp as the original blast box if possible to keep things simple, and I'll use the upgraded battery pack option.

I understand that I can't just pick a highly rated midwoofer and a highly rated tweeter and expect them to blend perfectly, so I'd like to ask you all for help. One thing that I loved about the original Blast Box was the excellent off-axis performance. There wasn't too much difference between standing right in front of the speaker, and standing way off to the side. I believe this is due to the tweeter the OG Blast Box uses - https://www.parts-express.com/Dayton...weeter-275-057. I haven't seen another tweeter that comes close to the off-axis consistency of this tweeter.

Click image for larger version  Name:	Tweeter freq.PNG Views:	0 Size:	197.5 KB ID:	1483592