Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Amiga build -- crossover mounting & veneer questions from a beginner

Hi all,

I'll be starting my first speaker build soon with a set of Amigas. I've done a ton of reading and think I have a pretty good handle on things, but have a couple of questions to start:

- From the build threads I've found, it seems people generally mount the crossover at the bottom of the cabinet. I do intend to test everything before I seal it all up, but especially given that it's my first time I'd like to keep the crossover accessible just in case it ever needs attention. Is there any harm in mounting it on the back of the cabinet directly behind the woofer? I imagine I'd need to find a way to cover the crossover with the damping material in that case, but anything else to look out for?

- I've read a ton about veneering and the various methods available. I'm planning to have a continuous sheet running from one side, across the rounded baffle, and over to the other side. From the research I've done I think I'm most comfortable working with Titan DX contact cement and paper-backed veneer, and have seen/read some great tutorials. The one thing I'm not clear on is what sort of finish is compatible with this method -- apparently you need to be careful not to use a finish that could penetrate the paper backing and react with the contact cement? I imagine Joe Woodworker can provide some guidance here when I order my supplies but curious to hear any experience from speaker builders.

Thanks!

A lot of people here put the crossover external, usually so they can tweak it endlessly lol. Some even put it in its own enclosure and connectorize it to the main cabinet. Otherwise it can go anywhere in the cabinet. The bottom is just the most convenient.
    Francis

Comment