Amplifier/wiring

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Amplifier/wiring

If I'm just building one of the Magna *** Laude towers and I'm going to be getting a Behringer EP1500 should I wire them mono or just use one channel? I'm thinking mono, but I'm a novice.

Re: Amplifier/wiring

the behringer ep 1500 in mono has 900 watts rms the magna *** laude handles 200 to 250 per speaker mono wire is total over kill and if the amp is cranked to the max it will kill the speaker. use 1 channel and save money to build a second speaker. or get a smaller amp. a used nad 2400thx will do fine if you bridge it to mono. this seller is good

Comment

If I choose to use just 1 channel wouldn't I only get the left or right portion of the music? Or does 1 channel play the same music as the 2nd channel? Know what I'm trying to say?

Comment

Originally posted by scowentz View Post
        If I choose to use just 1 channel wouldn't I only get the left or right portion of the music? Or does 1 channel play the same music as the 2nd channel? Know what I'm trying to say?
        If you are going to input two channels, you should bridge it. Otherwise, as you say you'll only get Left or Right. By bridging the signals will be combined.

I wouldn't be that concerned with the amp blowing up your speaker as long as you stay reasonable in how you use it.

I'm sure I'm not the only one curious what you plan to do with this rig. If you give some more information, maybe you'll get some useful suggestions.

bb

Since we cannot know all that there is to be known about anything, we ought to know a little about everything.
        - Blaise Pascal (1623 - 1662)

Comment

Bridging the amp will NOT combine the seperate channels. Using a Y-adapter will. Then you can bridge if desired, but as Philip said, you'd have enought power to be dangerous.

I too am curious as to your plans with one speaker, unless this is you: