Newbie cutting baffles

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie cutting baffles

Never cut a baffle before, and I have a couple questions. (For me this is the most intimidating part about DIY speakers.)

First, I have engineering background and I have taken some shop classes in high school and college (a long, long time ago). However, I have very limited experience with power tools (lived in apartments most of my adult life).

I inherited from my father:
    power drill
    circular saw
    jigsaw
    simple router (not plunge) and a handful of bits
    (I'll have a table saw someday, when I drag it back from my mother's house)

I've been reading here in Tech Talk about circle jigs and plunge routers, and I don't have either. Since I am just getting started, and since I don't know how many speaker builds I may or may not do in the future, I'm reluctant to spend much money on tools at this point.

Is it possible for me to make some decently round holes with what I have? (I'd certainly consider buying a circle jig, but I'd like to avoid buying a new router)

Can I cut holes with a non-plunge router (for example, drilling a hole first to get the router started)?

Can I use a circle jig with a non-plunge router?

Is it possible to flush-mount a driver with the tools I have (possibly buying a circle jig)?

I guess that's all I can think of for now. Thanks in advance for any advice.

Re: Newbie cutting baffles