Advice on first ultra budget LINEARRAY

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice on first ultra budget LINEARRAY

Hi, I am new to this forum and also new to DIY, in terms of practical experience, but I've been reading and researching in the past many many months and I think I am ready to build my first project:

Projects I have read include conventional TM/MTM/TMM 2ways, and all types of 3ways, full rage projects (e.g. using the markaudio CH70 drivers), subs, and line arrays.

I believe I have sufficient electronics knowledge to build XOs etc, but not the experience to design them, so I have only planned to build existing projects.

I have no experience in building boxes and this is what scares me, but I do have a friend whose uncle is a skilled carpenter and will be able to help me/provide tools.

So, with my above mentioned experience, I decided the easiest type of speaker to build would be something along the lines of a single fullrage driver sealed/BR (so no XO or just a simple filter) or a fullrage line array (again no XO, or complicated boxes with different mounting options etc.)

basically I am keep coming back to 'fullrage' for the easiest and simplest implementation. Am I correct?

So, anyway, I have finally decided to build a line array such as this:

http://www.parts-express.com/project.../Kuze3201.html

Looks like I can just slap a load of drivers connected together into the right impedance in a line, maybe add a filter, a bit of external eq, pair with a sub, and I'll get great sound? Or is it much much much more complicated than that?

Anyway, lets say I go ahead with this project, I'd like to go super budget and use these drivers:

http://www.parts-express.com/pe/show...number=289-124

I cannot find any info on these things or anyone else using them. Are they suitable? IS this a bad idea? Any better suggestions for a better driver that is not significantly more expensive?