A good crossover design?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A good crossover design?

I have designed a crossover for a 1" vifa tweeter and a 6.5" vifa woofer. The values on my schematic are "mathmatical" values.

Do you think this will work well for the speakers i am crossing over? I am fairly new to all this...

Thanks
    Attached Files

Re: A good crossover design?

Here is the short answer. The xo point looks right but the actual xo will not likely work. The result will most likely look like heck and will not be flat.

Mathematical xos almost never work.

1. the formula assumes a constant impedance across frequency.
    2. The formula doesn't account for phase interactions between drivers and acoustic offsets
    3. Formulas forget that the driver already has a rolloff

Goals
    --Roll speaker off against a target slope
    --Make sure drivers interact appropriately

Methods
    --Use measured responses to simulate crossover

Comment

Originally posted by brianpowers27 View Post
      Here is the short answer. The xo point looks right but the actual xo will not likely work. The result will most likely look like heck and will not be flat.

Mathematical xos almost never work.

1. the formula assumes a constant impedance across frequency.
      2. The formula doesn't account for phase interactions between drivers and acoustic offsets
      3. Formulas forget that the driver already has a rolloff

Goals
      --Roll speaker off against a target slope
      --Make sure drivers interact appropriately

Methods
      --Use measured responses to simulate crossover
      You can use the plots from the manufacturer. Vifa is usually pretty close to actual.

What is needed is a way to take those plots, convert them to data, and then use a crossover modeling program to factor in all the topics you mentioned above.

SPLTrace will convert the plots to data.