Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3.5 Way project.....need crossover help

Hello,

I am new to this forum, so please forgive me if I ask some dumb questions. I am also new to speaker building as I have only completed about 3 projects to date, and I have much to learn. My latest project is a 3.5 way tower speaker design for my HT room. I have picked out and already received the drivers, and have already started building the enclosures for this MTMWW design. The drivers I am using are as follows:

http://www.parts-express.com/pe/psho...number=277-010
    http://www.parts-express.com/pe/psho...number=264-873
    http://www.parts-express.com/pe/psho...number=299-245

With two mids and two woofers per tower (one tweeter of course).

I planned on using the prefabbed 3-way crossover for this system:

http://www.parts-express.com/pe/psho...number=260-210

While using additional components to make the second woofer the .5 woofer to compensate for baffle loss. I don't so much have questions regarding this added low pass filter, but rather about Zobel networks and how important they are. I am assuming I can have Zobel networks for the tweeter and mids even though I have a prefabricated Xover? I also have looked at some websites that have Zobel Network calculators, and I have looked at other projects on the PE project showcase to try to understand them. I have not been able to follow along with any of the PE project showcase crossovers and how they match with the so called "Zobel network calculators" found. Can someone please tell me why this is? I am assuming it has something to do with the added resistance of the crossover itself. So does this mean I need to measure the resistance of the crossover as well and add this to the resistance of the driver?

Any help would be appreciated. Am I going about this the wrong way?

Thanks,
    Jesse

Re: 3.5 Way project.....need crossover help

Originally posted by jcrane82 View Post