Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First timer TriTrix/DIY speaker question

Hello All,

For those of you who haven’t seen, I have spend the last few weeks putting together a pair of the TriTrixes using the kit from PE. This was my first go at DIY. My progress can be found here: http://techtalk.parts-express.com/sh...d.php?t=222073 I was going to buy a set of Monitor Audio BR5’s or BR6’s, but ended up finding all of these great comments about the TriTrix speaker set (the price helped too).

At this point I have everything put together with the exception of putting on the final enclosure side. I have been changing the stuffing and then re-clamping the side then listening to the speakers. This brings me to my questions; again I am very new to this DIY stuff so please excuse my rudimentary question.

1. Is there a way to “test” everything to make sure is wired and working properly besides just listening?

I want to make sure I didn’t make any mistakes in the build and all of the components of the XO are working correctly. I was expecting a little lower end from the speaker. However, let me be clear, I have GREATLY enjoyed the speakers up to this point. They are much cleaner and clearer than the speakers I will be replacing.

I really appreciate any comments or help!

Later,
    Mike

Re: First timer TriTrix/DIY speaker question

Well, as I'm sure you've read in other Tritrix threads, the woofers have to break in to achieve full output.

I'll catch up to you this weekend!

Old DIY's vs. new. :D

Comment

Thanks for the reply Steve; I appreciate you taking time to help a newbie out!

It's all a new learning experience for me. Maybe, my ears haven't a chance to listen to "real" speakers before and they need a little more refining.

Later,
      Mike

Comment