Cheap-O Center Build

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cheap-O Center Build

Alright, before I get hounded for being an idiot, I'll preface with this: College budget (aka none), terrible room dynamics, new to speaker stuff in general.

Goal: Use the two Tang Band 3" drivers ( http://www.parts-express.com/pe/show...number=299-113 )(leftoversfrom a repair) to build a cheap center channel.

Basic info:
    Speaker Info:
    Name: W3-881SI 3"
    Type: Standard woofer
    Company: TB Speakers
    No. of Drivers = 1
    Fs = 106 Hz
    Qms = 7.17
    Vas = 0.05 liters
    Xmax = 0.5 mm
    Sd = 69 sq.cm
    Qes = 0.96
    Re = 6.6 ohms
    Le = 0.212 mH
    Z = 8 ohms
    Pe = 30 watts
    Dimensions:

Realistically, anything is better than what I'm using as a CC right now, which is an old satellite speaker from a surround system.

I have basic electronics knowledge if I need to add any kind of simple x-over, but I don't know if it will be necessary, I'll leave it up to you guys.

If anyone can help me decide dimensions/layout/anything really that would be great. It really doesn't have to be perfect sound-wise, just something for me to play with to put these two drivers into use and off of my desk.
    Last edited by Adam_G; 01-25-2012, 06:54 PM.

Re: Cheap-O Center Build

How would I calculate the best center-to-center measurements for these two speakers? Or should I just mount them as close together as possible?

Comment

Well... with the addition of a single 4 or 5 uf capacitor, you can make kind of an "inverted" 1.5 way speaker. Place them (ideally) in a vertical array, but horizontal is ok too if you get them very close.
      Don't listen to me - I have not sold any $150,000 speakers.

Comment

@Johnny: