X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3-way Speaker design with Bohlender Neo10

Hi all,

First post here and I am still a noob, so please be gentle

I am planning to build a set of 3-way speakers to finally upgrade my home audio installation to something more decent, and I was hoping to get some advice on the choices I've made so far.

My driver choice:

Dayton Audio PT2C-8 Planar Tweeter - Freq range: 2khz - 26khz
    ____
    Crossover 3khz
    ____
    Bohlender Graebener Neo10 Planar Transducer - Freq range: 150hz - 6khz
    ____
    Crossover 350hz
    ____
    Dayton Audio RSS315HF-4 12" Subwoofer - Freq range: 23hz - 1kz

The plan is to cross the above three over using a DBX Driverack PA+ active crossover / audio processor, which can handle stereo 3-way and has a build in parametric equalizer for correcting some curves if needed.

The reason for choosing the above configuration is based both on people raving about the quality of the drivers, and I really like the looks of the Bohlender and the Dayton Audio 12" sub

I think the Neo10 and the Dayton tweeter can compliment each other very well, my worries lie more with crossing over the Sub with the Neo10, and this is where I was hoping to get some input from you guys. I am afraid that crossing over the sub at too high frequencies might destroy some of the quality in the lower frequencies, since most applications cross this sub over at 150hz or less...

The sub will be put in a ~3 ft3 enclosure (with bracing, speaker and port already subtracted), vented with a 4" port with a length of 15" to tune the enclosure to 25hz. The hole configuration will look like something like this:

Please shoot with comments / suggestions / improvements!

Re: 3-way Speaker design with Bohlender Neo10

not liking the driver layout. push the midrange down near the woofer and put the twerter above it.