Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Brightness, harshness, hardness, piercing midrange... my experience

Hello all,

Someone recently pointed out I've been complaining for 5 years about "bright" speakers. He's right. I have. And I've looked everywhere for an answer, without finding anything.

At least I'm sort of stubborn. After years and years of measuring, designing, complaining, experimenting, etc., I think I've found a couple of guidelines regarding all those terms. I hope this is useful to someone. Suggestions & corrections are welcome - I'm still learning, and most of these concepts are assumptions on my part.

1) What is "harshness", "brightness", etc.?

I've been looking for an explanation myself. After looking back at the designs which I've built and thought of as "bright", I think that brightness has a lot to do with the sound power radiated on frequencies around 1 - 7 KHz and their relationship to the sound power above and below them.. It manifests itself first as extra detail, but it tires you very fast. In my case, it can make my ears ring.

2) What do I mean?

Whenever I build speakers, I usually get the following:

Two way speaker -> usually good results, no brightness.
    3 - 3.5 way speaker -> brightness.

So, after a while, I decided I needed to start following some sort of method, to try and find out what was wrong. First, I did lots of experiments.

a. Lower the mids and highs(from 1 KHz up) -> no luck.
    b. Raise the bass (from 100 Hz down) -> no luck.
    c. Create a "house curve" -> no luck.
    d. "Tilt down" the speaker's response -> no luck.

I hadn't noticed I never did anything to, say, 250 Hz to 1 KHz.

3) How I discovered my issue.

After redesigning dozens of times my crossovers, and blaming everything from the source material to the drivers' material, this is what I did.

a. I took a 2-way speaker I built that I love and took MLS measurements and RTAs at my seating position.