Free CAD???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Free CAD???

Okay, so I understand PCD and other excel software design products, but short of actually hand drawing an enclosure design on paper and scanning it to a jpeg file, I have no software that enables me to post a design concept.

Is there any good free design software that will let me do this on the PC? MS Paint sucks for this BTW, and it sucks for drawing shematics as well... I just want something that will enable me to draw a virtual picture of the final enclosure so that I can tweak before trying to build.
    HAGD,
    Marc

Even though I try to tell everyone upfront, understand that I am still a Newb. I wish the status of Seasoned Veteran/Senior Member, etc. was earned with time not posts...

TMWW thread

Maurbacs DCR Tower

Re: Free CAD???

Have you tried SketchUp?

Comment

Originally posted by vapor602 View Post
      Have you tried SketchUp?
      Nope never heard of it, I'll look it up.
      HAGD,
      Marc

Even though I try to tell everyone upfront, understand that I am still a Newb. I wish the status of Seasoned Veteran/Senior Member, etc. was earned with time not posts...

TMWW thread

Maurbacs DCR Tower

Comment

Or eMachineShop, it's 2D/3D, you can't do textures or colors though, super duper simple compared to SketchUp, but also a bit limited.

रेतुर्न तो थे स्रोत
        return to the source
        leviathan system thread
        deadhorse thread
        shockwave build thread

instagram :: greywarden_13

in war, victory . . . in peace, vigilance . . . in death, sacrifice.

Comment

Sketchup is probably the best option for free 3D CAD. It's not as powerful as the expensive 3D CAD packages out there,but it's very easy to use. I also use Draftsight when I need a free 2D CAD program with an interface that's nearly identical to older versions oF AutoCAD.

Comment

http://www.caddit.net/progecad/smart.php