Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

$500 for my first DIY speaker project..........help and questions!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• $500 for my first DIY speaker project..........help and questions!!

I was all set to pull the trigget on buying and building the Idunn...........after a few comments from forum members, I'm not so sure the Idunn is for me. I've been hearing that the speakers are fatiguing, lack low end, and have some issues with vocals. I will add a sub later for sure, so the lack of bass doesn't bother me. I already have MDF and tools at the house (I'm a woodworker). I need to keep the budget for the 2 speakers to $500.

The W.A.F. is huge for this build, so I'm limited to a small area for the speakers to go. My available space for each speaker is to the right and left of the TV. I end up with 10" wide x 45" high x 19" deep. Here is a picture of the TV area:
    Click image for larger version

Name:	Speaker placement.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	518.8 KB
ID:	1183271

The speakers will be on top of the TV stand that is already 19" high and the speakers will be close to the wall.

Questions:
    • What are some suggestions for my $500 budget?
    • Can the Idunn kit be tweaked (box and/or crossover) to improve the vocals?

I'm ready to order my parts next week. Since this is my first build, I was trying to stick to a kit the first time out. Thanks in advance!

Re: $500 for my first DIY speaker project..........help and questions!!

I'll start off the suggestions with "buy a kit from Madisound". The SR71 kit plus the cost of MDF and finishing supplies put you around $500.

Comment

How about the MMTMM version of this built without the dead space at the bottom of the tower: http://www.madisoundspeakerstore.com...-2.5-way-pair/

Do you intend to add center and surround speakers latter too? If so, the ZA line of kits will make it easy for you.

Comment