Need advice on Pioneer CS-44 Woofer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need advice on Pioneer CS-44 Woofer

The guys over at audiokarma sent me this way for some advice. I am looking to replace the woofers in a pair of Pioneer CS-44's. The tweeter's are in good shape and I would keep the crossover the same. Any suggestions on what woofer would work well in these speakers? Thanks for your help!

Re: Need advice on Pioneer CS-44 Woofer

It appears someone has undertaken this journey:

http://audiokarma.org/forums/showthr...472#post576472
    I am trolling you.

Comment

I saw that thread, but it looks like the speakers he ended up going with have been discontinued... I have little experience so I really do not want to rework, bypass, or replace the crossover, instead I am just looking for a good woofer that I can use with the original speaker configuration.

Comment

You might try the GRS options, or the current buyout 8" ribbed paper woofer. It is unlikely anything will be a DOWNgrade.

It also appears the crossover is a very simple two-piece unit; it will provide some baffle step compensation and increased high-end rolloff. Considering the high Qts of cheap woofers, that might actually be bad for the sound. You might try removing the inductor.

The tweeter's capacitor should be replaced. They are at least 40 years old by now.
        I am trolling you.

Comment

This is one of those "is there anything much you can do bad to it" threads. Throw the inside (or outside) dimensions at me with the wall thickness so I can figure the volume of the enclosure, and any port size, and I think I can "shoot from the hip" with a copy of a workable design for you. It won't be the last word in "hi-fi" speaker design, but if my mind is working right, it'll blow the OEM outta the water for a doable price. Not "dirt cheap", but very very reasonable.
          Danger: Ricky-Pooh has an idea!

Comment

Originally posted by aarthur66 View Post