Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Newbie question regarding amp filters versus crossovers for a bicycle stereo build

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie question regarding amp filters versus crossovers for a bicycle stereo build

85 mile bicycle charity ridethree of these thingsmanual

Re: Newbie question regarding amp filters versus crossovers for a bicycle stereo buil

oh and one forum question, I had links in the post above to the bicycle ride, the batteries and the boss manual, but the links only show up when you hover over them. I guess I am a newbie at posting as well. Sorry.

Comment

Re: Newbie question regarding amp filters versus crossovers for a bicycle stereo buil

Tri-mode is where you bridge two channels to one for the sub and in the same 2-channels you also hook up stereo left and right. Bridging the amp to one channel for the sub and using 2 for the mains would work best, as you surmised. If you really wanted to tri-mode you would need 'passive crossovers (Just really inductors, capacitors, and resistors).I really think, however, that you should send back the tweeters and grab some full-range drivers. Running just subs and tweets will probably lead to a huge dip in the response... Yeah, you will drain your battery faster... do you have some kind of charging system off the wheels help out the battery?

Comment

The BOSS trimode is just a poor man's way of getting 2.1 speakers to work with a 2-channel amp. Since all speakers are on the same amp channels, any internal filters would affect both sub and main speakers, thus the external crossover. Price the components and you'll find out why no one does this.