what to do with 1000 drivers, cnc, and a school

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• what to do with 1000 drivers, cnc, and a school

first I'm a newbie... so back ground first I'm a high school science teacher

I inherited/been cursed with 1000's of drivers (not joking 1000's) lots of ports, wires, terminals, etc. I got some students interested in building speakers. I thought it was a good way of teaching basic electronics. the crossovers went well (if student sloppy), but the box didn't. The students couldn't cut a straight line,the holes for the drivers were a disaster, and the classroom was a mess. Fast forward the school might be getting a cnc (large industrial size) can anyone suggest/give a CAD or CAM file of speaker something a little more than a rectangular box. The students have to pay for the wood, amplifier, and paint/finish ..so think simple. what ever design is given I can match drivers, vents, and volume

perhaps one of the following
    1) a large floor standing 2 or 3 way for a group of kids to build
    2) a book shelf 2 way maybe with some kind of curve
    3) an interesting subwoofer enclose

thanks for everything in advance

p.s. if it goes well I'll post student work in project gallery

Re: what to do with 1000 drivers, cnc, and a school

Would you be able to give us an idea of what drivers you have? I'm very curious. Plus it'd be good to know to steer you in the right direction.

Dan

Comment

I could probably help you out with this! A while back my robotics team got a CNC, and ever since I have become the team "expert", and have been putting probably 15 hrs a week in running the thing, so I'm getting pretty good, although ours is only a three-axis (I'm guessing yours will probably be the same). I CAD everything in Autodesk Inventor, and CAM it in HSM express. Very user friendly set up.