First time working with veneer?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First time working with veneer?

I have to cover some MDF cabinets using Walnut veneer. I've never used veneer and wondered what some of you may suggest as far as procedure and type of veneer is concerned. And suggestions and info would be appreciated.

Re: First time working with veneer?

Originally posted by emilime75 View Post
    I have to cover some MDF cabinets using Walnut veneer. I've never used veneer and wondered what some of you may suggest as far as procedure and type of veneer is concerned. And suggestions and info would be appreciated.
    I'm a rookie too and have only done this once. I used the iron-on method and it's fairly easy (except I had to buy my mother-in-law a new iron afterwards ;)

Here's some useful links:

http://www.webherrera.com/blog/2009/...-instructions/

http://www.ohio.edu/people/schneidw/...veneering.html

http://www.lonesaguaro.com/speakers/VeneerTutorial.pdf

http://www.veneersupplies.com/catego...%26__Supplies/

Hope that's helpful. Again, I'm no expert but from what I've read, you probably want to go with paper-backed veneer and iron-on method as a first try. Some swear by contact cement but it can be unforgiving (and smelly). Real pros use vacuum press.

Carbon
    Carbon13

Comment

If I recall correctly, walnut is on the difficult side - brittle and prone to splitting.

If you go with a paper backed veneer, an iron-on should work well. I'd spring for Heat-Lock over plain yellow glue.

If you can, cold press can be awesome but it takes patience and setup - and more tools. If you're book-matching it may be the way to go. It would allow you to work with un-backed veneer. I would NOT use any iron-on technique with unbacked walnut.

C
      diVine Audio

Comment

I use PSA veneer which worked very well
        Statement Monitors

Duratex is your friend

Comment

Paper backed and iron on is about as easy as it can get.