Newbie cabinet building questions - speaker mounting, router, etc

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie cabinet building questions - speaker mounting, router, etc

A while ago, I built Paul Carmody's Overnight Sensations from the flat pack kit, and am quite happy with the result. Other than some aesthetic mistakes, the build went smoothly. I'd like to build a "higher end" speaker with similar dimensions as the OS (for nearfield/desktop use), and have my eyes on the Speedster (although I'm not set on it).

Problem is, the cabinet building is a big obstacle for me. I have a circular saw, a small sabre saw, a Dremel tool, and an electric drill, but no router or jig. At this point, I don't think I can justify purchasing these tools for a one-off project. Not to mention, even if I bought the tools, I have no experience using them.

I read Roman Bednarek's article "Effects of surface mounting versus flush mounting drivers", and realized I probably don't want to surface mount the tweeter (impossible with the Speedster anyway, but I'm also considering other design's, like LouC's Piccolata).

About 12 years ago, when I still lived with my parents, I built a guitar speaker cabinet out of 3/4" birch plywood. Those speakers were surface mounted. I think I have enough left over birch to build a pair of small speakers like the Speedsters or Piccolatas. However, the wood has been exposed to 12 years of Central Illinois weather in a non-conditioned garage (it stayed with my parents after I left the nest).

Finally, while I've seen plenty of gorgeous speaker builds on these forums, I'm not really concerned with aesthetics. If things aren't perfectly square, or there are a few rough edges, or if I have to do touch-up with a Sharpie marker (like I did with my OS), that's OK, as long as actual audio performance isn't compromised. (Frankly, I kind of like the "rough around the edges", "obviously DIY" look... I think the fancy term for that is "understated".)