Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Full range line array for home theater fronts?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Full range line array for home theater fronts?

I was thinking that it would be really easy to build a nice pair of line array speakers to act as fronts for a home theater. Maybe 5 full range drivers in each?

Any thoughts one this one? I am a noob to DIY speakers, but I have been reading like crazy.

I did build a small pair of full range speakers but I am wanting to take on some real challenges with speaker building and woodworking.

Any pros/cons of small line arrays?

Thanks in advance!

Re: Full range line array for home theater fronts?

A full line array will generally consist of more than 5 drivers.
    https://www.facebook.com/Mosaic-Audi...7373763888294/

Comment

5 drivers is not a good number of drivers to work with in a line array. Usually an even number of drivers works better unless you are also integrating shading into the array. However this is normally not done in such a short array as you propose.
      Don't worry, if your parachute fails, you have the rest of your life to fix it.

If we all did the things we are capable of doing, we would literally ASTOUND ourselves - Thomas A. Edison

Some people collect stamps, Imelda Marcos collected shoes. I collect speakers.:D

Comment

Originally posted by isaeagle4031 View Post
        I believe he is talking about a full range line array, not a full line array.
        Don't worry, if your parachute fails, you have the rest of your life to fix it.

If we all did the things we are capable of doing, we would literally ASTOUND ourselves - Thomas A. Edison

Some people collect stamps, Imelda Marcos collected shoes. I collect speakers.:D

Comment

Yes I am. I am thinking of 5 full range speakers wall mounted next to each side of the TV.

Am I wrong calling this a line array?

Comment

Originally posted by Stickboy2k View Post