Cigar box 2 x 2" design suggestions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cigar box 2 x 2" design suggestions

Intro: I'm new to building speakers but I understand the basics like speaker Fs, cabinet resonance, -3dB frequency, etc. I understand the electronics/amplifier side much more thoroughly (EE by trade). I'm not looking to build some living room bookshelfs or anything to that magnitude just yet. My little brother mentioned in passing he liked the way this small desk speaker (VERS 2Q) looked but didn't want to to justify the money. I'd like to build him something similar.

What I know: I have a few quality cigar boxes around the house, all measuring 8" x 5" x 4". I'd like to put two speakers in one box for a small stereo setup. It will have a small metal back panel for power and line-level audio IN. I can easily take care of the power supply and amplifier. My brother doesn't want bluetooth, just line-in.

What I don't know:
    -Wattage. I am going to start with 2x5W base, but if consensus says I need more power I'll do so.
    -Drivers. Any personal recommendations here? Something in the 2-3" range I would assume.
    -T/S parameters. Can I design the cigar box and choose the drivers using WinISD given it's such a small low powered project?
    -Porting/insulation. Would either be beneficial on such a small enclosure?

Any suggestions here would be great. I hope to learn a little about speaker design while building this somewhat trivial project. Thanks!

Re: Cigar box 2 x 2" design suggestions

IMO, 5 watts should be plenty for that design.
    These 3 inch TB full range drivers may work in that size box.
    http://www.parts-express.com/tang-ba...river--264-880
    You should have a divider between the left and right sides in order to give some stereo separation.

I think I hear a difference - wow, it's amazing!" Ethan Winer: audio myths
    "As God is my witness I'll never be without a good pair of speakers!" Scarlett O'Hara